Wednesday, October 12, 2011

We will talk about the asana and pranayama sutras in class tomorrow

sthira sukham asanam

Asana is perfect firmness of body, steadiness of intelligence and benevolence of spirit.
prayatna saithilya ananta samapattibhyam

Perfection in an asana is achieved when the effort to perform it becomes effortless and the infinite being within is reached.
tatah dvandvah anabhighatah

From then on, the sadhaka is undisturbed by dualities.
tasmin sati svasa prasvasayoh gativicchedah pranayamah

Pranayama is regulation of the incoming and outgoing flow of breath with retention. It is to be practised only after perfection in asana is attained.
bahya abhyantara stambha vrttih desa kala samkhyabhih paridrstah dirgha suksmah

Pranayama has three movements: prolonged and fine inhalation, exhalation and retention; all regulated with precision according to duration and place.
bahya abhyantara visaya aksepi caturthah

The fourth type of pranayama transcends the external and internal pranayamas, and appears effortless and non-deliberate.
tatah ksiyate prakasa avaranam

Pranayama removes the veil covering the light of knowledge and heralds the dawn of wisdom.
dharanasu ca yogyata manasah

The mind also becomes fit for concentration.

Monday, October 10, 2011

tatah pratyakcetana adhigamah api antaraya abhavah ca

Meditation on God with repetition of aum removes obstacles to the mastery of the inner self.
vyadhi styana samsaya pramada alasya avirati bhrantidarsana alabdhabhumikatva       anavasthitatvani cittaviksepah te antarayah

These obstacles are disease, inertia, doubt, heedlessness, laziness, indiscipline of the senses, erroneous views, lack of perseverance, and backsliding.
duhkha daurmanasya angamejayatva svasaprasvasah viksepa sahabhuvah

Sorrow, despair, unsteadiness of the body and irregular breathing further distract the citta.

maitri karuna mudita upeksanam sukha duhkha punya apunya visayanam bhavanatah cittaprasadanam

Through cultivation of friendliness, compassion, joy, and indifference to pleasure and pain, virtue and vice respectively, the consciousness becomes favorably disposed, serene and benevolent.

heyam duhkham anagatam

The pains which are yet to come can be and are to be avoided.

Principles which run contrary to yama and niyama are to be countered with the knowledge of discrimination.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Getting Upside Down

Well, I personally,  have had a great time teaching ya'll inversions this week. It is really exciting to watch your enthusiasm for these powerful poses.  Keep up the good work.

Here's the handout from  class. 

8 limbs of  yoga

•Yama :  Universal moral guidelines
• Niyama :  Personal observances
•Asanas :  Body postures
• Pranayama :  Breathing exercises, and control of prana
• Pratyahara :  Control of the senses
•Dharana :  Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness
• Dhyana :  Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
 Samadhi :  Union with the Divine

The Five yamas

•Ahimsa: non-violence, inflicting no injury or harm to others or even to one's ownself, it goes as far as nonviolence in thought, word and deed.
•Satya: truth in word & thought.
•Asteya: non-covetousness, to the extent that one should not even desire something that is not his own.
•Brahmacharya: control of sexual desire
•Aparigraha: non-possessiveness

The  results of  becoming  “Firmly established”   in these behaviors.

When one is firmly established in non-violence, others abandon hostility in your presence. Enmity vanishes.

When one is firmly established in truth,  actions and words are fructified.

When one is firmly established in non-stealing,  all jewels come to you.

When one is firmly established in continence,  power is attained.

When one is firmly established in not coneting, knowledge of past and future lives unfolds.

The Niyamas

•Saucha: cleanliness of body & mind.
•Santosha: satisfaction; satisfied with what one has.
•Tapas: austerity and associated observances for body discipline & thereby mental control.
•Svadhyaya: study of the Vedic scriptures to know about God and the soul, which leads to introspection on a greater awakening to the soul and God within,
•Ishvarapranidhana: surrender to (or worship of) God.

The  results of  becoming  “Firmly established”   in these behaviors according to  Patanjali.

Cleanliness leads to not using others for personal gratification.
Contentment  leads to happiness.
Tapas leads to removal of impurities.
Self-study leads to awareness of  relationship with one’s personal diety.
Surrender to god leads to  perfection of  Samadhi